Insulin Dependent

Every time I get blood work done my endo sends me a copy of the results along with any notes she has. These range from diet and exercise suggestions to little notes of encouragement like “A1c is improving!”. I love her for that. Unfortunately the most recent printout came with the most startling note so far, and it was only four words!

C-peptide low. Insulin dependent.

It’s been no mystery that my case has been somewhat of a question mark. I was diagnosed at 18 years old, no signs of antibodies, and mysteriously had my A1c jump from 5.3 to 9.2 in a matter of months with high BGs that didn’t respond to Janumet, Glimiperide, or mega metformin doses.

Despite the fact that I resisted the urge to make my meals consist entirely of Dunkin Donuts and Chef Boyardee – the college student diet of champions. Geez.

So I progressed to Lantus at bedtime. Then an NP had me try Victoza and took me off of insulin entirely. That sucked. A lot. I woke up with BGs in the 500s, I was nauseous, so I chucked that sample in the garbage where it belonged.

I’ve had a low c-peptide for a while, but the most recent blood test revealed that it’s far lower than it was. Like, way below the lowest normal number low.

I’ll admit it’s a bit of a relief to know that I wasn’t totally failing before, that my body is just being a jerkface like it usually is, but it does bring on a few more challenges. Like my T1 friends I have to BE the pancreas.

I think we should make t-shirts that say that by the way. Just a thought.

I have to take basal insulin and bolus insulin, and all the calculations that come with that. But like my T2 friends I still have to be very diligent with exercise and carb counting since I am still insulin resistant. And any T2 or T1 with IR can tell you, insulin resistance is a royal pain in the ass!

But, here’s the cool part, since my c-peptide is so low I might be able to make a case for getting an insulin pump! I haven’t started the process yet, so I’m not sure what will happen but I’m excited nonetheless. I’ve never met a T2 with a pump so I don’t know how successful I’ll be just yet. Also, I don’t know anyone in person with an insulin pump, so I’d love to hear what everyone thinks in the comments!

Leave a Reply

